Podcasts — Part 3

If you are with me up to this point, you’d probably like a little bit of help getting some content to put on your Mp3 player.

Here are a few places to get started.

http://librivox.org/newcatalog/ (When you get there, you can search, but I recommend clicking “Browse entire catalog.”)

If you want audio books, this is a nice place to start. All of the content here is in the public domain and volunteers read classics. Since it is a volunteer effort, the quality can be a little bit mixed. I enjoyed a great many of Aesop’s Fables, but a couple of them were recorded too low or by a person whose native language was clearly not English. I’m planning on starting Moby Dick in the near future, so we’ll see how that goes.


http://www.oculture.com/2006/10/university_podc.html

This site has a variety of academic lectures in all sorts of different subjects. It’s like taking a class for free with the added bonus of not having homework.

I followed the link under Ohio State to get to an interesting series by Hubert Dryfus at UC Berkeley on Existentialism. You do sometimes have to fast forward through details on homework assignment and office hours, but the content is really top notch and the recording is of surprisingly decent quality.

http://www.learnoutloud.com/Free-Audio-Video#directory

This last one I’ll include the caveat that I haven’t used it myself yet, but this looks like a very promising site for content. I did notice that this is a site that is selling some of its material, but I hope that the free content is worthwhile.

As far as fiction material goes, I like http://www.podiobooks.com/ I got Scott Sigler‘s The Rookie, which I really enjoyed. It isn’t for everyone though, so take a look at the site for more options.

Let me know if you’ve found anything you think I’ve missed.

Leave a Reply

