Free Online File Conversion

I think a lot of us have been there, maybe without even realizing it.

I have a file of a particular file type (it always seems to be a media file) that is in a format I can’t play for some reason. Usually I can just go to the web find some sort of converter download it and change the file into something I can view. That’s a big hassle though, and it’s left me with a bunch of converting programs for stuff I rarely run into anymore.

Today, I ran into a great solution http://www.youconvertit.com/. This site will let you upload a file in a particular file format, and then let you download the file from its servers in a different format. It is a pretty simple, but brilliant method. This works for me because I have a great high-speed connection. This may not be the best solution for people with slower connections, or an abundance of hard drive space.

For people like me, though, with high-speed connections and limited room for more programs on the computer, this is a great choice.

There is one drawback that I’ve noticed so far. Certain corporate mail servers do not accept e-mails from this company. All the public mail services that I have used thus far have had no problem, so this may be just an anomaly.

There’s also a function to let you convert online video (like stuff you’ve found on Youtube) into downloadable content as well. So, if you haven’t found a download you like or something like http://vixy.net/ to download that material, this might be a good choice.

Lastly, I’ll mention one other function that is possible from this. You could use this to move files from one computer to another without using e-mail. The servers at YouConvertIt keep the file for seven days, so if for some reason you can’t use e-mail to transfer a file, this could be an option for you. Just make sure you check out of terms of service for acceptable uses. (It’s relatively short. You can handle it.)

Leave a Reply

